Factsheet on the visa-free regime


  • In July 2014, Kazakhstan launched a pilot scheme to allow citizens from 10 countries to travel to Kazakhstan without a visa for a period of 15 days.
  • In 2015 the government of Kazakhstan expanded the number of countries included in this visa-free regime.
  • The list now includes 19 countries: Australia, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the UAE, the UK and the U.S.
  • Citizens of these countries may enter Kazakhstan with a valid passport visa-free from July 16 2015 for a period of up to 15 days.
  • The visa-free regime is valid until 31 December 2017.
  • Kazakhstan already offers a visa-free regime for up to 90 days to citizens of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Russia and Ukraine.
  • Citizens of Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Argentina, South Korea, and Turkey are allowed visa-free entry for up to 30 days.

Benefits for Kazakhstan

Through an extension of the visa-free regime Kazakhstan hopes to: о Increase the inflow of foreign tourists to Kazakhstan.

о    Increase the number of people wishing to attend major international events scheduled in

the next two years, such as EXPO 2017 in Astana and the 2017 Winter Universiade in Almaty.

о    Attract more foreign direct investment (FDI) into the country. The visa-free rules focus on

the countries that not only invest in Kazakhstan, but also bring effective management and introduce new technologies into production.

General information on Kazakhstan, FDI and tourism

  • Kazakhstan’s openness to foreign investment has helped the country become one of the world’s 50 biggest economies.
  • President Nazarbayev has set a goal for Kazakhstan to build on its strong growth rates to join the ranks of the top 30 global economies by 2050.
  • Tourism is expected to play a key part in achieving this ambition. Kazakhstan, which is the world’s ninth largest country, contains a wide variety of national parks and stunning landscapes from high mountains to deserts.
  • Astana, the new capital city, has attracted some of the world’s leading architects to create a remarkable cityscape, while Almaty, the country’s largest city, has been shortlisted to host the 2022 Winter Olympics.
  • Some ten special economic zones operate in Kazakhstan. Entrepreneurs enjoy full support and tax preferences in these zones.
  • Investors in priority sectors (metallurgy, petrochemical, oil refining, engineering, construction materials and food production) are exempt from corporate income tax and land tax for a period of ten years, and the property tax for eight years.

For more information

The full list of counties that have signed visa-free agreements with Kazakhstan can be found here.

For more information on foreign investment in Kazakhstan see here.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Ministry of Interior of Kazakhstan